1healthymommy

Sharing in the journey of women everywhere!

Sunscreen? YES and keep it coming!

on May 29, 2012

This was such a fun and exciting weekend! The pool is open, the kids were running all over the place outside enjoying the beautiful weather, there was such happiness in the air! My son is the funniest, he can wake up at 6am and he wants to run outside and play on the deck with his water toys etc. Every morning my new summer ritual begins, apply lots of sunscreen, put on the rash guard (water shirt) and send him on his way. Then I reapply a minimum of every 2 hours with the water babies spray. I do this all day every day if he’s going to be outside. He loves it, he never complains because it’s routine and he’s used to it. My daughter is only 9 months so she fights me but she gets the same treatment! Overkill? I think not, the sun is dangerous and there is no way I want my kids exposed to that so early in life. We have tent on the deck with sunscreens to limit the exposure.

I witnessed many parents over the weekend that don’t do this and I don’t understand it. I have been wondering if it’s that they don’t even realize they aren’t doing it or are people really dumb enough to think if you spray it on at 8am, it’s still working at 4pm? With everything we know and see about the dangers, I think it’s awful that parents don’t start really paying attention to this and making sure they protect their kids. There is nothing worse than a child with sunburn, and trust me I’ve missed spots and seen it first hand!

Parents I urge you to make this a priority this summer, protect your kids and yourselves!

Leave a Reply

